I want to thank everyone for the comments on the last blog about my grandpap. It really helped.

As for how he is doing, he didn't look as bad as I thought. He just looked very old. He was very weak, and we're pretty sure he did not remember us. He was also very quiet. I think we all handled it really well, we saw him on a good day. When the rest of my family went to see him on Thanksgiving, yesterday, he was in a terrible mood and screaming and yelling. So his moods fluctuate a lot. I'm just really glad I saw him on a good day.

He's not eating very much; he's eating about 48% of breakfast, 15% of lunch, and 12% of dinner, which is not a lot. He says he's full. He also thinks that he is coming home, which is not completely out of the question, but the chances are slim. He keeps calling home and asking for my grandma to come get him. :/

Yesterday, Thanksgiving was really good. We went to my aunt's so not to stress my grandma and all the food was delicious and I probably gained 2349087 pounds. ;P I'm so grateful for everything that God has given my family.

Today, me and my mom and dad did a little bit of shopping, but not much. We mainly met up with some other friends, and that was nice. Then, about fifteen minutes after we got to my grandma's, my grandma was having severe pains. She was throwing up and she had to lie down because she felt like she was going to pass out. She thought she needed to go to the hospital.

Soooo, we called an ambulance and then my aunt that lives right next door. The paramedics came and we figured that she had disturbed or done something to a rupture that she had years back that she had surgery on. We're not really sure from there. I have a mentally retarded aunt that is currently staying at my grandma's for the holiday,  and through this whole ordeal she was sleeping, and still is. Me and my mom stayed behind in case she woke up or if any of our other relatives called to ask for information.

We're just playing the waiting game right now. We don't know if she'll have surgery, or if they'll post-pone it for another date and just give her pain medications... we don't know. So I'm just trying to do what I can to pass the time.

Our original plan was to come home Saturday, tomorrow, but we don't know if we're still going to do that. My grandma may need us here, and if so, we'll stay an extra day.

All in all, this has been a really hard week for my family. :/
11/26/2010 09:25:19 pm

I'm so sorry to hear about your grandparents :( :( :( i hope your grandma gets the help she needs and she slowly recovers as well :(

Reply
11/28/2010 11:18:26 am

I'm so sorry to hear that your whole family is going through a tough time, especially after what happened with your grandfather. It's a shame about his moods, but I guess these things happen and you have to look on the bright side and think about the good things. :)

I hope your grandma's alright, and your aunt too. I'm sure the doctors will come up with the best option for your grandma.

I have a keycard to get money out of the bank but I rarely use it to take money out; only to put it in. By putting my money in the bank that stops me from taking it out at all, unless in a real emergency. :P

Reply
11/29/2010 06:50:20 pm

Oh gosh you poor thing. I hate the holiday season. I hate that things can happen anytime. The problem is we are all going to get old, some are not even going to get that far. All I know is I don't want to be around if it ends up I can't even remember my family ...

I hope this is all the setbacks your family will have. Hard enough now with what you're all going through. I hope you will all be given a break to enjoy Christmas as well as you can ...

Reply
11/30/2010 09:08:28 pm

Oh, I'm really sorry. Everything always happens during the holidays doesn't it? It's horrible irony.

It's horrible when a relative doesn't seem to recognise you. My granddad was in hospital a year or so ago and he looked so pitiful, he barely seemed to be aware of his family standing around him. It's an image that's been branded into my memory. I really hope your grandfather is better soon.

As for your grandmother it's terrible this happened when your grandfather is already in hospital. I sincerely hope everyone heals soon. Surely if surgery is postponed it will be for the best, even though it can be stressful.

Disney movies are beautiful. I was surprised at all the music in them watching some of them for the first time in years but it really made them special.

Reply
12/1/2010 01:08:32 am

I'm really sorry to hear about everything that is going on with your family. I know how hard it is to go see your family when they're sick. I went through it with my grandfather, and he passed away within 2 weeks. It sucks.

I'm considered lazy cause I don't currently have a job. I've applied at a billion different places, I've had 2 interviews and a small part time job. So I'm trying. It's hard to find a job nowadays

Reply
12/1/2010 10:12:31 am

Thanks.

Oh, I'm very sorry to hear about your family! It doesn't sound like it's a good part of the year. I hope that things get better for you & your family.

Reply
12/4/2010 12:48:00 am

I'm so sorry to hear about your grandma. It must be hard having to deal with her own illness on top of everything else... and to have this happen during Thanksgiving as well :(

Reply



Leave a Reply.