For a whole semester, I have been considered a junior, an upperclassmen at my high school, but really, I haven't felt like it too much. I mean, people before me have always talked about how great it is to be a junior and senior, not having to deal with freshman, etc, etc. Until recently, I hadn't felt like that.

This year I've been taking a lot more challenging classes, so only juniors and seniors are allowed to take them, which I recently realized, is a wonderful, wonderful thing. I hadn't realized how much I enjoyed not having freshman in my classes.

I'm currently taking a class, Personal Finance, that everyone is required to take to graduate. It is such a pain in the butt. The teacher is terrible, the other students are terrible. It's just terrible terrible terrible. I mean, some of the people in there can't do the simple math. (Ex: Bob works 5 hours a week. He make $7.25 an hour. How much does he make in a week?) I just don't understand how you can't figure out how to solve that! I realized lately that most of the students in there are freshman. They're just so frustrating.

Now don't get me wrong, not all of the freshman are terrible. There were quite a few freshman girls on the tennis team this year that I really liked and became friends with. So, I think it's just safe to say that most of the freshman are just... freshman.

Anyways, I think I'm rambling and losing the point I was trying to originally make. I really like not having class with freshman. And I'm finally feeling like an upperclassmen.

Another reason I've been feeling my upperclassmen-ness is I got my class ring! (YAY! :D)
Class ring! :D
I'm not sure if all schools do this, but we had a ring ceremony and they made it into a pretty big deal. Unfortunately, I wasn't able to attend the ceremony because I was sick. Either way, I'm really happy with it! The green stone (I don't even remember the name of it, gees-a-lou!) isn't my birth stone, I just picked it because I thought it was pretty. :)
Picture
On one side of my ring, I had the tennis symbol, as I have played on the girl's tennis team the last two years and I plan on again next year. Plus, it's something I really love to do, and when I look back on my high school years, I'll remember tennis and all the memories I had on the team. <3 I also had my name on this side.
Picture
On this side I had the music symbol, as music has always been a big part of my life. I've taken piano lessons for the last five years and my freshman and sophomore year, I was in choir (though I'm currently not now, which is a long rant for some other post). When I was little, I was part of the musicals at my church and performed in the different children choirs. I'm still participating in the youth choir.
Picture
Lastly, I had my name engraved on the inside of the ring in all fancy lookin' letters. :)

I was really nervous if it would fit; I didn't want to have to give it back so they could resize it and then have to wait for it again. Luckily, it fit perfectly! The only thing I'm a little peeved about is that on the side of the ring, (you can't see it in any pictures) there is the black streak and it won't come off. I tried to rub it off, but to no avail. Andrew said it might need to be shined or something. I'm not really sure. I'm going to have to call the company and see what they say. I mean, I spent a good deal of money on this ring, so they should do their part right?

Anywho, on to sitely stuff. If you hadn't noticed, I added a visitor page! Whaatttt! I know, right? It's not really much because I'm like, graphic-ly challenged, but I added some recipes like I said I would, and I've added a book review.

School is almost out for break! Woot! I've got finals all next week to take, so this current week just seems to be dragging. I just was to take them and be done for the semester. Besides, I've been needing a break. Just some time to myself, or to spend with family and friends.

Good luck to everyone else with their finals/exams!
Sam
12/15/2010 09:19:12 am

Yeah! A Kris Kringle is like a secret gift swap! You get a present for your secrect Kris Kringle and do secret santa things but on a certain day (like 25th of Dec) [in my case, this was not the day] You put the present around the tree then when your all together, they have to guess who their kris kringle was! Its fun ^_^

Reply
12/15/2010 09:23:53 am

Hey! Thanks for the wonderful comments about my Uncle and I! I really hope I can meet up with him again it's been so long since I've last seen him (5th grade :O ). Anyway, I love your class ring, my schools has done this ever since junior high. I have two of the rings but I can't find the others (since we've moved around a lot and packed and etc.). Anyway, I hope you have a wonderful Christmas, and yes I do believe it's on their behalf to make that ring that you ordered to be perfect! So I agree with Andrew they should do their part and it does sound like it needs to be shined? I dunno. Good luck with it all!

Reply
12/15/2010 04:58:57 pm

Whoa was the glass ring provided by the school! Do you go to a private school? It seems so harry potter! I don't get the American high school slang like junior, sophomore, etc. Also the ring has so much meaning behind it!

For some reason I'm thinking of Christmas dinner like the one you see on TV, the turkey and the pie :L

THanks I also like your ornament :D

Yeah I'm allowed to use it :D but I havfe to be careful because I think I might drop it. So I have the strap around my head :L

Reply
12/15/2010 08:36:53 pm

We don't get anything like that when we graduate. Not even a year book. We don't have proms either. I swear I lucked out going to school in Australia. I envy this so much.

Reply
12/16/2010 03:12:31 am

I like your ring. :) It's funny how one small element can suddenly make/help you feel like you are in said position/place.

Hopefully I'm making at least some sense? o.O

Reply
12/17/2010 06:42:15 am

Mine too! :)

That's only because I don't live in America :P So I would be/ am a senior :D

Just wondering, if you don't mind telling me. How much did it cost?

Yes but I think I'm going to read the manual because I think there are more functions that I'm not seeing!

Reply
12/17/2010 09:29:30 am

Ooh, very pretty class ring! I remember getting mine when I was a senior in high school; but we didn't have a big ring ceremony. They just shipped our rings to our houses. lol

Reply
12/17/2010 10:14:56 pm

Ouch, hating on the freshmen! ;D But I understand what you mean; even I don't like some of the girls in my grade. But I can assure you that some freshmen have negative feelings towards your grade. No offense!

I'm glad you are fitting into your role as an upperclassmen! That's really awesome.

Wow, that ring is so pretty! I think we get class rings, but I don't know if we get to personalize ours that much. o: I hope we do though! I hope you get the black streak fixed; that would not make me very happy either.

The visitor page looks great! I have had the peanut butter cookies before and they are delicious, but I am really thinking about trying the snowball ones with my aunt over the break. c: Keep adding more!

Good luck with your finals! I bet you will do great. ^^ Today is my first full day of break and it feels great! At least you have motivation.

---

I am glad you are excited for college! I don't think you are wasting your time in high school, though. You wouldn't be able to get into college without a high school education! xP But yes, high school can seem like a drag sometimes.

I celebrate Christmas as well! It is definitely a great time of the year. Merry early Christmas!

Yes, very true. I usually go out to eat two or three times a week, so I get bored of it easily... I like homecooked meals. c: Well, our oven just broke the other day, so it might be a while until I get another one. xD

Thank you! Good luck on yours as well. You probably started school a bit later than I did, though.

Reply
12/18/2010 09:42:24 pm

Oh the ring is gorgeous! I live in Australia so I got a bit lost with this blog. In high school here they have some accelerated classes but most of the time you're only put with people in your year; very rarely are you with others. I'm glad you're feeling like a real part of the upperclassmen.

I hope you can get rid of the streak somehow. I know vinegar and toothpaste cleans silver, though.

Woo, I'll have to check out those recipes! :D

Best of luck in your exams if you have any. :) I am on break at the moment, so I don't have to study for anything!

Reply
4/16/2013 03:50:16 pm

Thank you concerning revealing the info. That’s a brand new superb article men and women located. I discovered this particular article great along with interesting. Ok, i'll get back to recognize more.













































































































































Reply



Leave a Reply.