Almost every year for Christmas, we go to my grandparents in Pennsylvania for Christmas. It's a long drive, about 12 hours, but it's always good to see them as we normally only see them and the rest of my dad's family once a year.

My grandpap (or pap-pap, as we call him sometimes), has not been doing very well. He was diagnosed with Alzheimer's about three years ago, and at first it wasn't too bad. He would forget little things, like where he placed his keys, or if he had already taken his medicine for the day, but recently it has got to the point that my grandma can not take care of him anymore. About a month ago, he fell down the stairs in his house and hit his head and was unable to get back up. So my grandmother, old with age as she is, called my aunt who conveniently lives right next door. They managed to get my grandpap to the hospital and he was placed in ICU.

From there on, the details are a bit fuzzy except for the fact that his health is failing. The doctors say that it's common for Alzheimer patients to become mean, and my grandpap has now reached that point. My aunts and uncles have placed him in a nursing home, but it's only angered him more and they now say he has symptoms of depression as well.

The last time we came up here, last December, my grandpap didn't know who we were. All in all, it's been a rather difficult time for my family up here in Pennsylvania, and for mine back home. The doctors aren't sure how long my grandpap is going to last. My parents decided it would be better to come up for Thanksgiving this year instead of Christmas; it would relieve some stress on my grandma's part and to be honest, we're not sure he will make it to Christmas. It's one of those things that no one is saying aloud, but we're all thinking it.

So I'm in PA now at my grandparents. My grandma seems to be doing fine, though she misses him. She went to see him the other day and he told her that he loved her, which gives me hope, but also breaks my heart. One of these days, he won't recognize the woman he has been married to for more than 50 years.

My dad is attending a meeting tomorrow with his brothers and sisters at the nursing home to discuss what's going on, be updated on information, make sure everyone is okay with the plans, etc. My mother and I will go see him a little while later. I'm really nervous to be honest. I already know that he will not know who I am, and I feel terrible for my dad too as his own dad will probably not recognize him. My dad isn't really one to let his feelings show, but I know he has to be hurting at lieas But, I'm glad I will be able to see him, nonetheless.

I may or may not blog again until after Thanksgiving break, so I thought I would fill you all in with what's happening in my life right now. If not, I hope you all have a wonderful Thanksgiving and gain lots of weight, because I know I will! :)
11/24/2010 01:51:06 am

I'm so sorry to hear that. My grandpa is also suffering of the same illness, but "luckily" no lasting effects happened to him... so far. :(

But my mom and aunt did hire people to watch him 24/7, because there is no other way. Nursing homes are out of the question: he'd be drugged in no time :(

I will keep you and your family in my thoughts. And happy thanksgiving, well as much as it can be. :)

Reply
11/24/2010 08:09:57 pm

My grandmother ended up like this. In the end she thought my mum was her mother. I never saw her once she was in the nursing home, I wanted to remember her as she was ... not what she became.

I hope everything happens the way it should for your family. It's a hard thing to go through. xx Happy Thanksgiving.

Reply
11/25/2010 06:03:09 pm

A 12 hour drive? Wow that would be boring. :)

Oh that's so sad. I'm sorry to hear about your grandfather. All my grandmothers and grandfathers have passed, all a long time ago. I have one left and she lives in Germany, a long way from here. I don't really remember them to well.

I've never met someone with Alzheimer's. I thought it was just a little memory loss sometimes, but I guess it's much worse than that.



Reply
11/25/2010 09:01:40 pm

We don't celebrate Thanksgiving in Australia, sorry! But I hope you have a good one.

I'm really sorry to hear about your grandfather. Sometimes the time will come, and it's true that even though you're hoping, you're all having the same sort of thoughts. I am sure you will treasure every moment with him, and I'm sure he appreciates you coming by.

It makes me teary to know that he expressed his love to your grandma. But it's things like this that really touch us and make us see that love will never die.


Thank you for the comment! *hugs* I do feel much better now. :)

That's really upsetting about the piano lessons though. My mum believes that I wasted seven years of lessons. I quit after my sixth grade exam, which is a "fair" grade to quit at. School just got in the way and it was all too much, I also started to hate it. I hope that talking with your mum helped though. <3

Reply
11/26/2010 11:44:38 am

I'm sorry to hear about your grandpa. I don't know how it feels to lose a close family member to illness but I know how it feels to miss the presence of one, sorely. I hope you will feel better, and that everything works out ok.
How was your Thanksgiving?
___________
I usually watch the Star Trek shows not the movies. I also don't watch the original series. I watch the newer ones except Deep Space Nine.

Reply



Leave a Reply.