Today, I did something that I have been putting off for approximately nine months. Today, I did something that I hate doing, but needed to be done. Today, I took another step towards being an adult. Today, I got my license to drive. (How much more awesome if I had said to kill. Yeah, I got my license to kill.)

Let me start from the beginning. When I turned 15, I was as excited as a five year old on Christmas morning to get my permit. My mother took me to the State Licensing Office and I took the online test. I passed and was so ready to get behind the wheel. We went to the License Bureau next to get my actual permit.

The first time I drove was also the last for the next couple of months. I hated driving. Absolutely hated it. All the other cars zooming onto the road next to you and cutting you off and honking at you cause you're going to slow and all the signs and rules and lights you have to follow and my mother and father yelling at me that I'm going the wrong direction. It was too much.

So far a while, I didn't drive. Then my dad persuaded me to get behind the wheel again, and it was a little better this time. And a little better the next, but never was I comfortable behind the wheel.

My 16th birthday came and passed and my friends left and right were becoming licensed drivers, and here I was with no desire at all to even become one. Getting my license meant I would have to drive. Drive to get it, and then drive afterwards. Why would I do that when other people can tote me around? I didn't get my license.

Then eight months later, Andrew's truck dies. He had no job, so no money to be able to get a new car, and I did not have my license, so I could not drive my dad's car. We were looking at a situation where it suddenly became hard for us to hang out. Andrew gently suggested I get my license, that way we could at least hang out over break some. I thought about it, thought some more, and after about a week, I mustered up enough courage to ask my parents if they could take me to get my license. I was going to do this.

Of course, Andrew's mom managed to buy him a used car, taking some money out of child support and then giving Andrew a good lecture about how he was eventually going to pay her back for part of it, and then the rest was a Christmas present.

Hey, I may not have to get my license. But by now, I wanted to get it. I started to feel bad that he always had to pay for gas and what other expenses while I just came along for the ride. I wanted to do this.

So today, my father had me drive out to the place, telling my things I would need to know; here's the headlights, the rear defroster, the front defroster, etc... We sat in line, and after a couple of minutes, one of the instructors called my name and told me to follow him.

Oh. My. Gosh. I was actually doing this. I probably looked like a freak as I led him out to the car, I was sure I was shaking and that oh my gosh I'm going to kill us all. He kindly asked me to show him where certain things were, and I complied. Deep breath. I could do this. He asked me to reverse out of the parking lot. I shifted into reverse, and I turned the wheel the wrong way. I was going the wrong way what the heck is wrong with me I've never had this problem in my life! I fixed it, and backed out.

He told me to proceed to the end of the lot. I stepped on the gas...and we lurched backwards. I repeatedly said I was sorry, and changed into the correct gear. He told me to relax and take a deep breath. I complied.

The rest of the test went much smoother than that. He was very polite, which made me relax and not make anymore horrible mistakes that made it look like I had never driven a day in my life. I had never parallel parked before, but I thought I managed that all right. We pulled back in front of the building, he gave me a grin, and told me I passed. I almost fainted I was so relieved I would never have to do that again. I found out later that I had passed with a 71, and you needed a 70 to pass. I didn't care that I didn't do very well, I passed and wouldn't have to take it again, and that's all that mattered.

Afterward, my dad handed my the keys, implying he wanted me to drive home. I almost laughed and handed them back. I had enough driving for today.
1/3/2011 07:56:37 am

Wow; sounds like you have had quite a day! I get my permit this year, so my dad has already started teaching me a bit about driving. I'm terrified of cars; I hate being the one at the wheel. It feels so unnatural! But good for you for getting your license! It doesn't matter what you passed with, as long as you passed. xD

Reply
1/3/2011 10:03:43 pm

Haha, congratulations big time. Do you feel more independent?

I didn't get my license until I was 21, over one year ago. I wasn't so much afraid, more lazy, and the fact that I was still mentally crushed from failing my first driving test. But I'm happy to have it now.

Reply
1/4/2011 05:53:31 am

I hate driving. D: I get my permit this year (or at least I am supposed to) but I don't even want it because then my parents will expect me to drive them around. I definitely understand you, though; there is way too much to think about when driving.

It's great that you passed! I expect to pass mine but I shouldn't be trusted with a license. x3 I bet driving will get more easy and natural for you soon enough! Having a license will be very useful. Congrats!

---

Yes, it is the same thing. We go to the same school. (: Haha, it is awesome.

Cooking is awesome! Yeah, I guess that could count. xD

Bah, sorry you are back in school. ): The beginning is always really hard.

Yeah, books definitely take a lot away from my bank account. My parents usually pay whenever I go to the movies because I don't go that often, so that is nice. (:

Reply
1/4/2011 08:00:07 am

Hello!
Could you please vote for me at http://www.itechdesigns.org/site-of-the-month/

I'd really appreciate it!

Reply
1/4/2011 02:15:19 pm

The devil came out in 2010, and is a story made up by M. Night Shamyalan. He didn't direct it this time but he co-starred in it (if I'm getting the message straight? cause he always does cameo appearances in his own movies so yeah). I just looked at the bonus features last night and noticed that one of the actors looked an awful lot like him, same curly long hair and everything and I went OMG! THAT'S SHAMYALAN?!! LOL I was totally shocked! But yeah it's a definitely really good movie it gives you chills from head to toe and everything. But the storyline is sooooooo good!

I actually remember those days of taking my driver's license test. I failed the first one but I was extremely nervous and pressured into getting it by my so called offline friends and what not. My family not so much, my friends yes. I guess because of the fact they were getting tired of driving me around everywhere. But needless to say; I went back another week and tried it again and passed it with only like 1 minor mistake. That was I didn't look both ways while crossing the streets. But I passed! I think this was in early 2004 (whenever Ronald Reagan had his memorial done that's when I got my driver's license lol). I was so tickled to death, I asked my best friend to go out to dinner with me and we ate sushi! lol...I was just thrilled to death to drive, I shocked everyone at how good of a driver I was. Than I had my mental break down and couldn't drive for 7 1/2 years and found out what was causing my seizures...my depression medication. So I got off of that and onto something else (after I was institutionalized), and well; I was able to drive and started driving again in the summer of 2009. I saved up well enough money for a car, and I got my first car in 2009. I still have too, but the transmission blew. So I'm carless. I think that's what's worrying me the most is will I ever be able to drive again and what not? Ya know? That car and I was made for each other, it was fate. But yeah, I'm glad you got your driver's license so congratulations! I'm gonna be writing an entry about something very shortly...so watch out for it okay?

Reply
1/10/2011 07:58:28 am

Hey, sorry I've kind of been a bad blog friend lately. :(

I wouldn't really know a lot about driving, but it terrifies me. It terrifies me to think that I'll be able to get a permit in just under a year. Like, no. Just... No. I have no desire at all.

Or maybe it's just that I don't trust myself operating such a massive machine. I barely trust myself using an oven. D:

Reply



Leave a Reply.