I wake up this morning and the first thing that I notice is my alarm clock blinking back at me, announcing it is 8:13. Well, that's odd. My mom usually, by now, has come into my room at least 3 times trying to get me up to get ready for church. I sit up in bed, and through a peep in my curtains, see bright whiteness.

I hop out of bed, throw back my  curtains, and BEHOLD! Little white balls of happiness are floating to the ground! The ground and cars are covered in snow! Not a foot, but a good three or four inches! Pure euphoria!
Picture
I run out of my room and into the kitchen where my mom and dad are sitting, drinking coffee and reading the paper, and chant over and over excitedly, "IT SNOWED IT SNOWED IT SNOWED!" They look at me like I'm five, but I don't care. It snowed. :) My mother comments that she should wake me up everyday, telling me it snowed, just to get me up. Psh, silly woman, you can't fool me!

Since church was canceled, me and my mom decided to be productive and we spent all morning and part of the afternoon making cookies. Every Christmas we always make tons of cookies; it's really a tradition. So we get busy, playing Christmas music in the background and happily baking away. We have a window right above our counter, so as we cooked, we could see the snow falling outside. It was beautiful.
Picture
We even got my dad to help us a bit. And, for the life of him, he can't cook. Nor can he stand the amount of estrogen in the kitchen all at once. ;P

He peeled the wrappers off of Hershey's Kisses and Reece's Cups so we could use them for Peanut Butter Blossoms, which are, if I do say so myself, absolutely delicious. Tabor seemed to, as he always does, get in the way, so he finally just settles himself under my dad. The perfect spot to be if my dad accidentally dropped something.

I think I'll add a couple of my favorite cookie recipes to the site, if anyone would care to try making some of them. I'll try to do that in the next day or few.
Picture
Picture
Picture
Picture
In all, we probably made enough cookies to feed a small country. But they're so gooood. :D

In an hour or so, I'm going to be heading over to Andrew's to have him sample some of our creations and to watch some movies, where I will probably fall asleep. Baking can be so tiring...

Today is happiness at it's finest. I hope you all had a wonderful day as well. :)
12/13/2010 12:53:47 pm

Thank you so much for your support!
I really appreciate your help!
It is quite hard though to pray for enimies... So yeah, Would you mind being affiliates?

Reply
12/14/2010 06:16:03 pm

Ah SNOW! I can say I have seen it a few times now. In Chicago and in Michigan. I even laid in it haha. My besties whose from Chicago, her hubby said, 'A way to make an Aussie happy, throw her in the snow ...' Such a novelty for us. I need to get back for a white christmas :D

Reply
12/14/2010 09:41:28 pm

Love the new layout! You used the photos you took - I recognise the bauble. :D

Ahhhh. I want Reece's cups... we don't have Reece's in Australia, or at least they're really hard to find. I love the taste though, once my dad's friend brought some over from overseas... FUUU. <3

I'd love to see recipes! <3 My boyfriend and I make stuff all the time and if you popped some recipes up I'd totally want to make something. :D

The snow looks amazing! I'm glad it finally hit you and you're happy about it - so many people are devastated haha.

Our family isn't too big on Christmas and my parents are going to be working this year, so I don't think we'll have much time for celebrations and stuff!

That's totally true. :P We're all paying for our own stuff now, though I still think it's polite to pay for other people especially if you invite them to a party. I guess it depends on HOW you're celebrating.

I always used to like mixing things and making concoctions when I was younger - I really showed an interest in chemicals and chemistry. I didn't eat anything toxic, but once I drank milk with sugar, pepper and salt - surprisingly, didn't taste too bad! XD

Reply
12/15/2010 08:03:02 am

So I see you guys stole all the snow from where I live. Dx Two weeks ago we had a snow day, there was so much snow. But it's all melted away by now, and it's just been raining. Dx It's definitely not looking like Christmas around here.

Cookies are possibly the best creation on this earth. Enough said.

Ooh, I love peanut butter cookies. My grandma makes them and brings them over to us a lot, or she used to. She doesn't bake as much any more; she has really bad arthritis in her fingers. But when she does bake, it's to die for~

So, you should take this as a huge compliment because I never say this to anyone but... that dog is really cute. xD

Reply



Leave a Reply.