On Monday, we started putting up our Christmas tree! We didn't really finish it until last night, but me and my mom have been slowly working on it. It's an artificial one and comes with built in lights, so it took us like an hour to get all the sections working. By that time, we weren't in the best of moods and decided to call it a day.

Nonetheless, it got finished! We're working on putting other decorations up around the house, but just putting the tree up has definitely got me into the swing of Christmas. Here's a picture of our tree and some of my favorite ornaments :
Our tree!
Our tree! (and my dad's leg...)
ornament :)
There is this lady at my church that can make gorgeous ornaments; this is one that she made. Isn't it beautiful?
Ornament :)
The letter 'G' stands for our last name: Gray.
Mickey Mouse
Mickey Mouse
Santa please stop here!
This was my favorite one when I was younger. You can press the back of it and it plays 'Santa Clause is Coming to Town'. It sounds like it's just dying now... ;)
Picture
My dad bought this one in Turkey.
I don't know what it is about Christmas, but it is hands down my favorite holiday. I'm almost always in the best mood during the Christmas season (despite a select few songs that make me want to pull my hair out).I love giving gifts to people, spending time with my family, and definitely not least of all, celebrating Christ's birth. :)

If you celebrate Christmas, have you all set up any decorations yet? What is your favorite holiday?
12/2/2010 07:13:00 am

We put up our Christmas tree last Friday, but it looks kind of bare because my brother's haven't put up their ornaments yet because they don't care a whole lot. :c But my mom and my sisters and I have done a lot of decorating around the house, and my mom is still getting out other decorations as she finds them, and my dad and brothers have been doing the Christmas lights outside of the house. Fun stuff.

Those ornaments are so cute! I love the one with the butterflies. The "Santa Please Stop Here" one reminds me a lot of one of my ornaments. It has a little mouse in his pajamas dipping an oreo into a glass of milk, and it has a note that says, "Dear Santa, I left -crossed out 2- 1 oreo cookies just for you!" xD

Reply
12/2/2010 09:12:06 pm

We haven't put our tree up yet. I've never been a fan of Christmas coming too early. I love the anticipation but not for too long. :P We usually put our tree up a fortnight before Christmas. Of course we can't go out to buy one because of the snow. :/

Your tree and ornaments are really gorgeous. The pictures look perfect for making icons. :P Our tree is never so picturesque.

I like snow but we've just too much. I'm missing the concert tonight and I'm getting worried about falling behind with schoolwork. :/ It is pretty though.

Reply
12/3/2010 10:40:58 pm

We haven't put ours up. :( I'll admit I don't feel as religious as I used to (I'm a Catholic), though I do still acknowledge that meaning of Christmas. I don't know about it being my favourite holiday but what I love most is people getting together, giving, and spending time together and getting into the spirit.

My family is weird. We haven't put our tree up in years. We're a really busy family, and my parents are usually busy around that time of year, working. We don't get time to put the tree up. We're also not very big on presents at all, for any occasion. On birthdays, my brother and I can expect nothing. :P We just have never been big on presents, and I guess we're the kind of family who just sees these kinds of celebrations as a good opportunity to have some family time and just treasure the time rather than the presents... even though we don't put up a tree.

I LOVE our decorations though, I love that you showed your favourites! My favourite is this intricate piece my mum got from a department store; it's a little mouse standing on a typewriter (the piece is so detailed!) and the piece of paper out the top says 'Dear Santa'. It's so cute; I fell in love as soon as my mum got it.

In year two, when I was eight years old, our teacher gave us personalised baubles for Christmas; she glittered our names on them. It was so sweet. :') Some people accidentally dropped theirs, and they broke... luckily I didn't; I think I still have it!

I've been to "the snow" here several times, but it's not the same as having it on your doorstep. I wish I could wake up to that because it would be amazing, but I know it's not always awesome. XD

I think it's wayyyy too much trouble seeing fireworks, especially when it's usually hot here. Most people like to watch it on television. :P

Reply
12/4/2010 12:50:55 am

Christmas is definitely one of my favorite holidays too. Most especially since I generally get the whole week between Christmas and New Year off (not this year though, sadly :( ).

My parents never put up the Christmas tree before the 24th. And we generally have it up until late January... mostly because everyone is too lazy to take it down.

Love yours, the Santa Please stop here decoration is adorable. :)

Reply
12/5/2010 12:18:47 am

Gosh your christmas tree looks just lovely :) we're putting ours up tomorrow!! It doesn't have half of the stuff yours has though :( (it's the fibre optic kind, so it's not really meant to be loaded with baubles and decorations - we mostly put stars and bows on it -_-) - i really LOVE that stop sign decoration the best too! hahaha i couldn't stop laughing at your "dying" comment - poor thing!!

Reply
12/5/2010 03:11:40 am

It's really difficult to find a job. So getting one I enjoy is a real bonus.

I helped my boyfriend decorate his Christmas tree yesterday. It looked really nice :) At home we have a real tree so we need to go out and buy one. I love decorating it.

The decorations are really nice. We have a lot of special donations, some that my parents had on their first tree like 30 years ago.

My favourite holiday is Christmas too :)

Reply
8/3/2012 10:38:02 am

Once again great post.. I'd really like to read more of your blogs and to talk about my views with you. Thanks for sharing with us your wisdom.

Reply
8/3/2012 10:45:51 am

When I entering your blog,I felt this.Come on and keep writting your blog will be more attractive.I'll be your frequent website visitor, that’s for sure.

Reply



Leave a Reply.