As some of you may or may not know, I've been taking piano lessons for the past five years, and overall, it's been something that I have really enjoyed. Lately though, I've been growing more and more apathetic about it. So, I'm considering quitting, but it's a hard decision for me to make.

On one side, in a year and a half I'm going to be heading off to college and I'm going to have to quit taking lessons either way, so maybe I should just stick it out for the next year and a half and try to learn as much as I can in that amount of time.

On the other hand, I don't want to continue doing something that I don't enjoy, waste my parents' money on lessons, and waste my time as well as my piano teacher's time. If I really don't want to continue, then I probably won't practice, and I definitely won't improve. So what's the point?

Also, I feel that by quitting taking lessons, I'm disappointing my mom. When she grew up, she didn't have the opportunity to learn how to play an instrument, or really to do much with any hobby or interest she had. I feel like she wants me to keep going because she didn't have the chance to. And I feel like I've just wasted all of her money for taking lessons, and then quitting.

I've considered a reason that I may want to quit is because I stopped taking lessons during tennis season, as I didn't have time for both, and now I'm just struggling to get back in the swing of it. Maybe I need time.

I talked to my mom about it, told her how I felt. She then talked to my piano teacher and said that most students that quit regret it. So we all came to the temporary solution that I will continue taking lessons until after Christmas season is over, and then we would decide if I really wanted to quit or not.

No one likes a quitter anyways.
11/2/2010 08:22:37 am

This is a pretty difficult decision. It seems like the pros and cons weigh each other out and there is no clear answer. Personally I would love to learn to play the piano, although I am sure that after a few years I would grow tired of it as well. If your parents want you to take lessons than I do not believe that is wasting their money. However, you shouldn't be stuck doing something you don't enjoy. Life is too short! But I agree with your teacher; I do think you would probably regret it at some point in your life. I would continue it for a couple of months, and if you still don't have any motivation then consider quitting more.

---

Thank you so much! Yours is too. c:

Thanks! I am much better. Ah, glad I didn't freak you out with my sick story. ;D

Aw, you are lucky. I get lots of weird disease. xD Mm, banana cream pie does sound pretty good. Actually, I don't like bananas so maybe not. No gravity would definitely be awesome! And it would be a great learning experience. Nice choice!

Reply
11/4/2010 11:43:32 am

That sounds like a good plan. It is good that you talked to your mom and worked out a good temporary situation.
You have good reasons all around and it sounds like you are really thinking it through.
I play the piano too, but I don't take lessons. I self-teach myself. I don't make a lot of progress at one time I progress slowly. :)
____________
Thanks for commenting on my blog. I'm glad you liked my layout. :D

Reply



Leave a Reply.